Google will delete millions of Gmail accounts on December 1 2023. Here’s Why
In December 2023, Google intends to delete Gmail accounts as part of a process that specifically aims to deactivate accounts that have remained inactive for a minimum of two years. For Gmail users who don’t regularly use their accounts, there is a chance that they will lose access to their Gmail accounts in the upcoming month. This will affect Google Workspace, including Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar, YouTube, and Google Photos, and will take effect on December 1, 2023. This means that if you have not logged in to your account since 2021, Google may delete it. The policy only applies to personal Google accounts that haven’t opened their Gmail account in two years and not to those for organizational accounts like schools or businesses.
Why is Google deleting inactive accounts?
Google is taking this action to protect users from security threats. The purpose of this action is to improve user security by removing accounts that are more susceptible to compromise. According to the internal analysis conducted by Google, accounts that are not active are 10 times less likely to be active than those that have two-factor authentication enabled. This makes them vulnerable to hackers because forgotten or neglected accounts often rely on old or reused passwords that may have been compromised. They also frequently do not have a two-factor authentication setup and receive fewer security checks from the user. These circumstances can result in identity theft and other cybercrimes.
How to keep your account active?
The easiest way to ensure that your Google account stays active is to log in at least once every two years. If you have recently logged in to your Google account or any of its services, your account is considered active and will not be deleted. The activities that may be included in your account activity include the following:
> Reading or sending an email
> Using Google Drive
> Watching a YouTube video
> Downloading an app on the Google Play Store
> Using Google Search
> Using Google Sign-in to sign in to a third-party app or service
Additionally, Google will consider subscriptions that are active and linked to a Google account, like Google One, a news publication, or an app, as account activity, which will prevent such accounts from being deleted.
Recent Posts
Social Media Calendar 2027 India: Important Dates, Festivals and Marketing Ideas
Social media has become an essential part of business growth, brand awareness and customer engagement. However, maintaining a...
WhatsApp introduces a new shortcut to share Reels in chats
Users who have linked their WhatsApp account to Accounts Center can quickly share Instagram Reels using the chat attachment o...
Why Businesses Need SEO Friendly Websites for Long Term Online Growth
The significance of a website goes beyond merely being the online presence of a business in the current internet age. A websi...
Now You Can Invite Anyone to a WhatsApp Call: No Account Needed, No Cost, No Time Limit
WhatsApp is making online communication easier with its new guest calling feature, allowing users to invite anyone to join a ...